Main Contacts Map

The Department of Economic Theory

The Department of Economic Theory is the successor of the Department of Political Economy established in 1933. t he Department faculty comprises 3 Professors, 15 Associate Professors, and 6 Assistance lecturers. It provides training for 4 doctoral and 2 Master's students.

The Chair of the Department is Dr. hab., Prof. Victor A. Vorobyov. His major research interest is macroeconomic policy.

The Department is the place of work for Dr. hab., p rof. Nikolai I. Bazylev who has contributed a lot to training cadres of scholars and teaching staff, developing the system of higher economic education in the Republic of Belarus .

The d epartment delivers lectures and provides classes at the Schools of Accounting, Finance and b anking, Law, International e conomic r elations in the following disciplines: Economics, Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Institutional economics, Industry markets economics, Social policy, Agricultural policy, Budget and taxation policy, Economic policy of the European Union, etc.

During the recent five years the d epartment faculty have been doing major research in the following fields:

  • property privatization and competitive policy;
  • knowledge economics development;
  • branch priorities and branch economic policy;
  • agricultural policy;
  • Economic policy of the European Union;
  • functioning of markets with asymmetric information, etc.

In 2001—2007 the d epartment faculty did a great job in developing textbooks and manuals. The course textbooks “Economics” edited by N. Bazylev and S. Gurko were re-published several times. The contents of the manuals “Economics” (2005), “Microeconomics” (2007), “Macroeconomics” (2007) issued at BSEU is in line with the curricula of the new generation and are recommended by the Ministry of Education of the Republic of Belarus for students of economic specialties in higher education institutions.

Address: 26 Partizansky prosp., Bldg 1, room 604
Telephone number/fax:
+375 17 209-88-18
© Belarus State Economic University
26, Partizanski Av, Minsk, 220070, Republic of Belarus
Tel.: (+375 17) 209-88-32; tel./fax: (+375 17) 296 23 66
Site created at "Internet" department
Academy of the Interior Ministry of the Republic of Belarus Baranovichi State University Belarusian state university of culture and arts Belarusian state university of transport Belarusian medical academy of post-graduate education Belarusian State Medical University Brest state technical university Brest state university named after A.S.Pushkin Vitebsk State Academy of Veterinary Medicine Institute for command engineers of the ministry for emergency situation if the Republic of Belarus Mogilev state university of foodstuffs Sukhoi state technical university of Gomel Grodno state agrarian university Grodno state medical university Vitebsk State Order of Peoples' Friendship Medical University Yanka Kupala state university of Grodno Mozyr State Pedagogical University named after I.Shamyakin