Main Contacts Map

Department of theory and history of law

The Chair of the Department is Dr. hab., prof. Dmitry M. Demichev.

He was born on November 9, 1946 in the village of Tomuzlovka, Budennovski district, Stavropol region, the Russian Federation. In 1967 he graduated from Stavropol agricultural institute and in 1984 from Minsk higher Communist party school.

In 1973 to 1997 Dmitry Demichev was a Party and Soviet functionary, who successively occupied the positions of a deputy chairman in the Minsk regional executive committee, head of the m ain department of personnel policies in the Presidential Administration of Belarus. From 1999 to 2001 he performed diplomatic functions as a Counsellor of the Belarusian embassy in the Ukraine . Since July 2001 Prof. Demichev was the Chair of the Department of s tate construction at the Academy of Public Administration under the aegis of the President of the Republic of Belarus.

In January 2006 Prof. Demichev was appointed and then elected Chair of the d epartment of theory and h istory of l aw at BSEU. In 1997 he defended a Dr. hab. dissertation on State-legal issues of overcoming the aftermath effect of the Chernobyl disaster (on the materials collected in the Republic of Belarus ). The Higher Certifying Commission of the Republic of Belarus conferred his scholarly title of Professor on May 13, 2004. Professor D. Demichev is the author of over 120 scholarly works, including 4 monographs, 6 text-books and manuals approved by the Ministry of Education, and 28 publications abroad. He is awarded with the Order of the Red Banner of Labor in 1986. In 2002 he was elected member of the Presidium of the Belarusian professors' association and delegate of the first Belarusian congress of scholars. Professor Demichev supervised 3 successful Ph.D. dissertations. His biography can be found in a number of reference editions.

The department of t heory and h istory of l aw was established in May 1998. At present, the faculty comprises 2 professors with a Dr. hab. degree, and 8 associate professors with PhD degrees.

The department's faculty deliver lectures and conduct seminars in 12 disciplines:

  • General theory of law;
  • Constitutional law;
  • Administrative law;
  • History of political and legal thought;
  • History of state and law of foreign countries;
  • Human rights law;
  • History of state and law of Slavic peoples;
  • History of state and law in Belarus ;
  • History of public movements and political parties;
  • History of political and juridical thought in the Republic of Belarus ;
  • Juridical ethics;
  • Sociology of law.

The course in Human rights is delivered for students of the University's other schools. The department is actively training researchers of higher qualification. The department provides a doctoral program in major 12.00.14, Administrative law; financial law; information law. A new major is planned to open: 12.00.02, Constitutional Law, municipal law. This academic year there has been launched a master's program.

Training young scholars enables to maintain continuity and natural change of faculty's generations, which contributes to strengthening the Belarusian school of juridical science.

The department is involved in scholarly research, its main directions being:

  • Constitutionalism issues;
  • Moral foundation of contemporary law;
  • Current issued of protecting human and civil rights and freedoms;
  • State governance bodies in the minimization of the Chernobyl disaster's aftermath effects;
  • Local government and self-governance bodies in ensuring the citizens' rights to favorable environment in the context of radioactivity contaminated areas;
  • Contemporary political-legal thought in Belarus and foreign countries.

Students are encouraged to take part in scholarly research. The major forms of their research work are summaries on relevant issues of juridical theory and practice in Belarus and foreign countries, presentations and participation in conferences and round-table discussions.

The department has close scholarly contacts with the university's other departments as well as universities in Grodno, Baranovichi, Gomel, etc.

The faculty's main publications in the period of 2006-2007 are as follows:

Address: 65 Rokossovskogo , bldg 8, room 29 220111 Minsk
Ph./fax : +375 17 209-79-64 (dept. head) 209-79-50 - methodologist
© Belarus State Economic University
26, Partizanski Av, Minsk, 220070, Republic of Belarus
Tel.: (+375 17) 209-88-32; tel./fax: (+375 17) 296 23 66
Site created at "Internet" department
Academy of the Interior Ministry of the Republic of Belarus Baranovichi State University Belarusian state university of culture and arts Belarusian state university of transport Belarusian medical academy of post-graduate education Belarusian State Medical University Brest state technical university Brest state university named after A.S.Pushkin Vitebsk State Academy of Veterinary Medicine Institute for command engineers of the ministry for emergency situation if the Republic of Belarus Mogilev state university of foodstuffs Sukhoi state technical university of Gomel Grodno state agrarian university Grodno state medical university Vitebsk State Order of Peoples' Friendship Medical University Yanka Kupala state university of Grodno Mozyr State Pedagogical University named after I.Shamyakin